Thursday, December 13, 2018
ਤਾਜ਼ੀਆਂ ਖ਼ਬਰਾਂ

BBK DAV College for Women organizes Sports Awards Day

Amritsar, Mar. 12 (Punjab Post Bureau) – BBK DAV College for Women organized Sports Awards Day to celebrate PPN1203201803the mettle of its 451 players who had won various national and international championships during the session 2017-18. Navjot Singh Sidhu Minister of Local Government, Tourism, Cultural Affairs, Archives and Museums, Government of Punjab was the Chief Guest for the event. Prof. Sukhdev Singh, Director Sports Dean Faculty of Physical Education & Head Deptt. Physical Education GNDU was the Guest of Honour for the same. Chairman of the College, Dr. Sudershan Kapoor & Principal Pushpinder Walia welcomed the honored guests with flowers & presented saplings as souvenirs to them. The function started with lamp- lighting ceremony followed by a mellifluous rendering of DAV GAAN & chanting of Ved Mantra’s to seek divine blessings.

While welcoming the guests, Principal Dr. Pushpinder Walia said that it is a proud moment for the college to honour its sports stars who have worked relentlessly to maintain college performances in various sports championships because of which the college is the leading sports institution of northern India. She presented the annual sports report and gave an overview of the achievements of players in various competitions. She added that college has always facilitated players by giving them financial assistance, free hostel stay and free transportation facility for their overall grooming.

Addressing the students, the chief guest of the day, S. Navjot Singh Sidhu , in his inimitable style, praised the college saying East or west, BBK is the best. He exhorted the students to conquer fear, the greatest enemy of success, to achieve their dreams in life. He advised the sport stars of the college to maintain their unique identities and never become copy cats. He added that a person with positive attitude and faith in self can never be a loser and hard work is the only way to reach greatest heights in any field. Quoting the examples of living legends Kapil dev, Tendulkar, Shahrukh Khan & finally himself, he motivated the players to crush all obstacles to carve their destinies. He also announced a grant of Rs 10 Lakhs for further enrichment of sports in the college.

Speaking on the occasion, Prof. Sukhdev Singh termed BBK as the leading sports institution of India, making largest contribution towards MAKA Trophy year after year. Highlighting the achievements of the college in sports, he said that out of a fund of Rs 4,00,000 Lakhs earmarked as prize money for players from all the colleges affiliated to GNDU BBK alone had grabbed 50% & he was confident that next year, their share would only increase.

The College honoured its alumni Arjuna Awardee Dr. Suman Sharma, Basket Ball player & Ms. Seema Verma, an international Archery player for their remarkable contribution in the field of sports. Baljinder Kaur from Tug of War team was conferred the Best Player Award. Besides, Aleena Reji, International Cycling Player was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 25000/-, Nayana Rajesh was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 25000/-. Amritha, Cycling player was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 22000/-. Shushikala Durga Parsad was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 20000/- Vaishnavi Gabane was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 20000/-. 10 students were honoured for their outstanding performance in both sports and academics. Members of Sports Club, distinct media persons and 50 coaches were also honoured.

BBK sports women enthralled the audience with their performance in Yoga, Rhythmic Gymnastics, Artistic Gymnastics and Rope Mulkhumb. Sports News Bulletin of the college was also released on this occasion. Students held the audience spellbound with Kalbelia dance.

Mr. Sudarshan Kapoor, Chairman, LMC, thanked the dignitaries for sparing their valuable time for the function. Mohinderjit Singh and Mr. Charanjit Rai Mahindru Members of LMC, Mehra & Sandeep Ahuja Members of Arya Samaj and  Dr. K.S Manchanda were also present on the occasion Rakesh. Mrs. Sweety Bala Head Department of Physical Education along with other faculty members congratulated the award winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>